Site logo

Adjudication of Glór na nGael National Competition 2016

The Glór na nGael team were on the road during the month of November, conducting our annual adjudication for our competition for Irish language community development groups. We travelled from one end of the country to the other, from Donegal to Cork, meeting all the groups and finding out about their work during the year.
A large mixture of Gaeltacht committees, urban groups & rural committees took part again this year.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank each and every committee who took the time to meet with us, and for the warm welcome we received in every corner of the country. You all deserve the utmost credit for the trojan work that you are carrying out in promoting the Irish language within your own communities.
The committees that are through to the second stage of this year’s competition are as follows:
Comharchumann Mhic Dara, An Cheathrú Rua, Contae na Gaillimhe
Cumann Forbartha Chois Fharraige, Indreabhán, Contae na Gaillimhe
Comhlact Forbartha na nDéise, An Rinn, Dún Garbhán, Contae Phort Láirge
Glór Cheatharlach, Ceatharlach
Glór na Móna, Uachtar Chluanaí, Béal Feirste
Ionad Uíbh Eachach, Béal Feirste
Cumann Cultúrtha Mhic Reachtain, Bóthar Aontroma, Béal Feirste
Glór Charn Tóchair, Carn Tóchair, Contae Dhoire
Cairde Teo, Ard Mhacha
The overall winner of the national competition will be announced at our annual awards night, which will take place in April 2017.
Best of luck to all the committees who are in the running for the big prize, and keep up with the good work!