Site logo

Blitz competitions for schools sponsored by Fondúireacht Sheosaimh Mhic Dhonncha

Over a hundred schools are set to engage in blitz competitions, an initiative sponsored by Fondúireacht Sheosaimh Mhic Dhonncha, aimed at strengthening the Gaelic community and enhancing the promotion of the Irish language. In a groundbreaking effort to nurture a more robust Gaelic culture, Glór na nGael is providing substantial funding to Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) clubs across Ireland. This funding supports the organization of blitz competitions among primary or secondary schools within the clubs’ respective operational areas.

An assessment process carried out before Christmas led to the awarding of €1,000 grants to 26 clubs through the Fondúireacht Sheosaimh Mhic Dhonncha scheme. This funding is intended to facilitate the organization of Irish-language blitz competitions for schools within the clubs’ local areas. The competitions, hosted by the clubs themselves, will see participation from up to 120 schools.

This initiative presents a prime opportunity for GAA clubs to engage in a constructive campaign that promotes the Irish language at a local level. It fosters greater unity among schools, teachers, and GAA clubs, and offers young people from different schools the chance to come together and participate in games where the Irish language plays a central role.

Fondúireacht Sheosaimh Mhic Dhonncha is part of a support program run by Glór na nGael and the Gaelic Athletic Association, designed for GAA clubs keen on promoting the Irish language.

For more information contact:

Listed below are the clubs that have received grant approval:

CLG Carna Caiseal, Contae na Gaillimhe

CLG Oileáin Árann, Contae na Gaillimhe

CLG Mungairit/Naomh Pól, Contae Luimnigh

Toigh Chonnachta, Contae an Dúin

CLG an Tulach Mhór, Contae Uíbh Fhailí

Gaeil Mhuigh Eo, Contae Mhaigh Eo

CLG Naomh Muire Íochtar na Rossan, Contae Dhún na nGall

Loch Gamhna CLG, Contae an Chabháin

CLG Mhic Uidhir, An t-Iompú Deiseal, Contae Fear Manach

Trí Leac, Naomh Mhic Artáin, Contae Thír Eoghain

Club Peile na mBan, Pailís Ghréine, Contae Luimnigh

Cumann Peile Naomh Anna, Leitir Móir, Contae na Gaillimhe

CLG Áit Tí Chathail, Contae an Dúin

Baile an Doirín, Contae na Gaillimhe

Cumann Camógaíochta Chois Fharraige, Contae na Gaillimhe

Laochra Loch Lao CLG, Contae Aontroma

Domhnach Mór/ Cill Dhéagláin CLG, Contae na Mí

Cumann Peil na mBan Maigh Cuilinn

CLG Átha Troim, Contae na Mí

CLG Áth an tSléibhe, Contae Luimnigh

CLG Chloich Cheann Fhaola, Contae Dhún na nGall

Clg Átháin, Contae Luimnigh

CLG Naomh Brónach, Contae an Dúin

Cumann Phádraig Mhic Phiarais, Contae Ros Comáin

Club Iománaíochta Bearna na Forbacha, Contae na Gaillimhe

Na h-Íathghlasaí, Contae Chill Chainnigh